What do I Want to Do?

Mom asked me a good question this past Monday, February 1, 2016. She asked,

“What are you going to do for a career? What do you want to do?”

It took me a few minutes to answer. When Mom asks about my future, she always mentions Attention Defecite Disorder medication. She currently wants me to take ADD medication for 6 months to see if there is any difference in my accomplishing things.

“I want to write for my living; that’s what I really want to do.” I replied.

“So you still want to write. But can you make a living out of writing?”

That took awhile longer to think about. I am never sure what the future may hold. Writing is a lot like breaking out in the music industry. Sometimes, the timing is perfect and you start off strong right out the gate. Usually, it takes awhile to get noticed. I couldn’t truly truly answer yes. I wanted to, but I didn’t know for sure. After I dropped out of college and after I left the machine shop behind, I looked at writing jobs. Each one required at least a bachelor’s degree if not a master’s, even the unpaid ones! (Which Mom thought was ludicrous. Why would you need a Master’s for an unpaid position? That is the question I asked myself when I saw that.)

I told Mom I could work for magazines, newspapers, and ummm, if I went into teaching I could teach it! I could also write commercials, I do think of awesome commercials all the time. Mom said I would have to move away to get a writing job. I couldn’t say for sure but I thought you could work from home with some so I wouldn’t have to move too far. She went on to suggest I become a park ranger.

“As much as you love the woods, a park ranger would be the ideal job.” She said.

049
Red Teaser splashing through the flooded brush.

That would be a job I wouldn’t mind. I would love to be outside in the woods for a living, but there is more to being a park ranger than skipping beneath the trees. I would research it. As far what I want to do to make a living, I’m not sure. I love talking about writing, I like helping others find their potential and the potential for their stories. I enjoy talking about techniques and trying different writing styles. I argue for genre fiction and say that while most stick to a formula, the great ones, the adventurers, dare to expand that formula and let it be the basis of their tale, not the map of it. I like watching wildlife and watching the trees. I like growing things and getting dirt under my nails and between my toes. I love writing. No matter what career I choose, I will never give up my writing.

042
Winter means the WMA turns into a swamp. Teaser doesn’t mind.

If I haven’t told you yet, I am going to reapply for college after I get my taxes back. I will go back even if I have to pay for each class out of pocket. I’m tired of day to day jobs, preferring a profession I actually enjoy. I try to take each day at a time, but sometimes we have to look further down the road to find the right path. No matter what I choose, it will be the right path, and I will see it through to the end.

Leave a Reply

