The Origins of Amanda’s Sky

This will be the first of a short series as I introduce myself to you. Please be kind to me.

My name is Amanda Marie Foster. I am 24 years old and I live in a building on my Mom’s land. Life could be better, but I have to wait for a hail of lemons to stop. I did work full-time at a machine shop, so do not say I’m just a no-good-lay-about-mooching-off-my-Mom, because I will inform in very many words that I am not. I value hard work and do not like to just sit around and get paid. I enjoy earning my money and feel guilty if I slack-off and get paid. The lack of payment is why I am stressed at the moment.

I have two dogs and 2 cats. My two cats, Princess and Polly, get along well, but Princess wants me to call her Empress and she whispers about taking over the world. My two dogs are Sie and Cinderella. You will probably hear a lot about these four animals as the blog marches on.

I live on a farm near the woods. There is nothing better than walking beneath the trees, hearing the music of the forest, smelling mast, and covertly watching Nature as they go about their various errands. It’s like watching trees grow, flowers bloom, and souls heal. Amanda’s Sky is the way I see the world. We each have a world we inhabit. The world we inhabit is full of people and they have their own worlds, their own routines and places they go. I will endeavour to share my world with you.

Things I enjoy:

  • Big words, I believe in having a vocabulary. Please consult a dictionary as often as you wish.
  • Varied words and outdated spellings (for Americans, outdated)
  • Old words and slang
  • Food, particularly cookies
  • Video games
  • Martial Art movies
  • Letters in the mail
  • Books, in Nook form or print, especially print! I love the smell of aged paper!
  • Sewing
  • Hiking
  • Exercising
  • Exploring
  • Poetry
  • Animals
  • Zoos
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Singing
  • Music
  • Randomosity

If you have any questions about these, please feel free to ask! The only stupid question is one not asked. Albeit, asking one that is answered in the text of whatever you just read and are asking about is rather silly.

 

What I Did:

I work 40 or more hours a week as a machinist in a machine shop a mile from my house. This is great for the gas mileage in my car as I ride a bicycle to work until it gets cold. I was working two jobs and getting anywhere from 48-60+ hours a week. I am looking for another job as I am about to snap from sheer frustration at the belittling of my intelligence and a lack of care and respect from my bosses.

 

What I Do Now:  I anxiously await phone calls for job interviews and write on a novel. I also spend random time cleaning and playing video games and going to the local library to read.

What I Would Like To Do:

I would love to be a full-time Slam Poet (performance poetry) and a novelist. I love Sci-fi and Fantasy. I mainly write Fantasy as Sci-fi is very hard to write and those sci-fi stories are just bouncing around gathering ideas in my mind.

I am working on seven or more novels. I am forging a world as I type. A world as grand as Mercedes Lacey’s Valdemar, or Anne McCaffrey’s Pern, or, best of all, J.R.R. Tolkien’s Middle Earth. It is not a copy. It is not “fan-fiction.” It is MY World. It has a name, Acadia and a very long, tumultuous history. I am working on a novel by the name of Love’s Captive which is not set in Acadia.

Love’s Captive is the weirdest story I have ever written. I started out writing the ending. Now I am halfway through with the middle. The only thing left is the beginning. It is weird because I am a chronological writer and I DO NOT write out of order.  As this method is working, I am not one to complain.

I have 225+ poems. I am compiling a book of 100 of these called Drifting Into Dreams, as they are mainly about Dream Guy, who has plagued my dreams for 12 years. I hope to have Love’s Captive and Drifting Into Dreams ready to send to publishers by January or March of 2015.

I will try to blog twice a week about random things. I will try to give you updates and excerpts from whatever story catches my eye as I write it. If you ask nicely, and promise not to attack, slander, or try to decimate and steal the very outcries of my soul, I will drop a poem every now and again. My poetry is very precious to me and I am like a dragon guarding its treasure. Please understand: I accept critiques, which is your opinion and what you would do to correct mistakes. Please, do not trash it. I am red-headed and my temper is prone to burst into all-consuming flame!

3 thoughts on “The Origins of Amanda’s Sky

  1. Awesome blod Amanda…I am sure I’ll come back to read more, because ofcourse I can’t read all at one time. I really like what you’ve written

    Like

Leave a Reply

